ACFO is to reduce to one region with the chairman and secretary acting as the link between ACFO’s six-strong board of directors and its membership. They will both attend board meetings, but in a non-voting capacity. Elections to both positions will be held annually. 

Two members - Julie Summerell, managing director, TR Fleet, and Lee Corrigan, car fleet manager, Skanska UK (see biographies below) - have put themselves forward for the post of regional chairman so an election is to be held with voting closing on Friday, 10 November. The result of the ballot will be announced at the 2017 ACFO Awards on Thursday, 16 November. 

James Pestell, currently secretary of ACFO’s East Anglia Region, is the only nomination for regional secretary so is elected unopposed. Mr Pestell has more than 15 years’ fleet experience having joined Independent Fleet Consultants (now IFC Group) in 2003 as a graduate IT systems analyst and following a number of promotions is currently national sales manager across the company’s four core businesses - IFC Fleet Services, Vertivia Mileage Management, Goodwood Rental and BBS Fleet Logistics.. He joined ACFO four years ago becoming East Anglia Region secretary last year. 

The positions of regional chairman and secretary will take effect from 1 January, 2018. 

Mr Pryor said: “The ACFO board’s workload continues to increase and that is reflective of a vibrant and forward-thinking organisation that is playing a major role in fleet-related decision-making at the highest level. 

“We are frequently asked to provide - both formally and informally - views on a wide range of issues to government and its agencies, and we work with many other organisations on formulating responses pertaining to an array of fleet matters. I anticipate the regional chairman and secretary to play a full role in the organisation and that will ease some of the current burden on board members. 

“ACFO is a members’ organisation, a conglomerate of best practice. ACFO punches above its weight and I hope that fleet decision-makers that are not members will join to help increase our voice.”